Google Code-In and KDE

Google Code-In is a contest for young students (13-17 years old) with the aim of encouraging young people to participate in open source. More than 500 students have been contributing to various open source projects. Sounds great! I’ve been contributing to many open source communities since 2009 to be precise, but I couldn’t miss such a chance to participate in the contest.

KDE is one of the organizations that were chosen to participate in the contest. So far, I’ve completed two tasks for KDE:

  • Create a custom voice navigation speaker for Marble: During this task I had to translate a set of voice commands into the Greek language for the route guidance mode of Marble. I  also had to record my voice to create a voice set for my language. You can take a look at the current Marble speakers here (I hope that my files will become available soon).
  • Create a blog entry about your favorite Marble feature: This task was about publishing a blog post describing a known Marble feature. You may still check out my post here. I decided to mention two Marble features instead, since I didn’t want to emphasize on a single feature. 

But, it doesn’t end here. I’m still going to complete more KDE tasks during the contest and I’m actually willing to become a permanent and active contributor (localization, promotion, bugs) even after the contest.

If you are a student and you are already participating in Google Code-In, you may go ahead and claim KDE tasks. From my personal experience I can tell you that KDE mentors have been doing a great job; they are always available to help, their response is quick and they have been always professional. If you are a pre-university student and you are willing to complete KDE tasks but you haven’t registered for Google Code-In yet, do not worry; you may signup for the contest and take a look at the available tasks (use the tag “KDE” at the field named “Organization” in order to view KDE-specific tasks). There are 18 days left for the end of the contest, so hurry up a bit.

To summarize, working with KDE developers and contributors has been a very pleasant experience and I will be looking forward to join them in the future. And that’s one of the contest’s values: bringing people closer and working together as a part of a team.

2 thoughts on “Google Code-In and KDE

  1. Thanks for your work! It’s very pleasant to work with GCI students from a mentor point of view. I wish you nice end of the year holidays!

  2. Thanks a lot. Google Code-In has offered a lot of things to us (both mentors and students) but, I guess, this is not something all the students are aware of. I wish you a happy new year and happy holidays as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

